Monthly Archives: October 2017

This Darkness Mine – Mindy McGinnis

Mindy McGinnis, award-winning author of The Female of the Species and A Madness So Discreet, returns with a new dark and twisted psychological thriller—perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Fight Club. Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her Oxford-wearing boyfriend. She’s worked her entire life to ensure her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved. But suddenly there’s a fork in the road in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks ...

Envelopes of Hope – Phyllis Babrove

A novelette, Envelopes of Hope is the story of a young girl’s descent into the dark world of drugs and the lifestyle that can come with it. With the undying love and support of her family, Amanda finally finds her way out of the dangerous world she had fallen into. This book is meant to give inspiration to those who have gone through or are going through similar situations, whether it is due to drugs or other issues we face. I wrote the book when ...

Picking Up Cowboys – Lori Soard

Catherine Claiborne is determined to hold onto the dude ranch that her father founded, but she just inherited a partner she doesn’t want. Struggling for money, in the dead of winter with no guests, she is determined to make it profitable. Gage Maddock has returned home after fourteen long years. He is determined to reclaim what is rightfully his. Mustang Claiborne left him half of a dude ranch. Gage isn’t thankful, he’d still own one hundred percent of the land were it not for Mustang’s ...

Reset: My Fight for Inclusion and Lasting Change – Ellen Pao

The “necessary and incisive” (Roxane Gay) account of the discrimination case that “has blown open a conversation about the status of women” in the workplace (The New York Times) SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 FINANCIAL TIMES AND MCKINSEY BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR | NAMED A BEST FALL BOOK BY ELLE AND BUSTLE In 2015, Ellen K. Pao sued a powerhouse Silicon Valley venture capital firm, calling out workplace discrimination and retaliation against women and other underrepresented groups. Her suit rocked the tech world—and exposed its toxic culture and ...

Accidents Happen – Sharon Karaa

Life was a bitch, but if Tabitha Brownlee was to be believed, Death was an alcoholic megalomaniac with a penchant for single malt and eyebrows that met in the middle. The problem was, that he alone had the power to put her soul back into her body and evict the son of a bitch who’d taken her place.

Angel – Alex Norris

Lewis, a 20-year-old university student, gets dumped by his boyfriend. After a night of heavy drinking he meets Rosie, a homeless woman who comforts him and opens his eyes to a world outside the university bubble. Tired of student life, Lewis embarks on a quest to give his life genuine meaning, trying to help those without homes and voices. But in his attempt to help those around him, Lewis loses himself into a world of depravity, secrets and seedy encounters, which threaten to destroy his ...

Final Girls – Riley Sager

“The first great thriller of 2017 is here: Final Girls, by Riley Sager. If you liked Gone Girl, you’ll like this.”—Stephen King Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout’s knife; Sam, ...

The Swing Over the Ocean – David Abare

A man saves a little girl, and as his world changes overnight, he hopes he can save himself. Stephen Alexander shouldn’t have been there that day. He lives in her apartment yet spent the afternoon at the motel with another. Hours later he hears a girl scream, bravely intervenes, and then his world goes dark. Now millions want to know who he is-thinking he’s one man-while he’s sure he’s another. The Swing Over the Ocean is a story about love amidst dysfunction, fear, and coming ...