Today’s Book

From the Ground Up – Howard Schultz

From the longtime CEO and chairman of Starbucks, a bold, dramatic work about the new responsibilities that leaders, businesses, and citizens share in American society today—as viewed through the intimate lens of one man’s life and work.  What do we owe one another? How do we channel our drive, ingenuity, even our pain, into something more meaningful than individual success? And what is our duty in the places where we live, work, and play? These questions are at the heart of the American journey. They ...    Read More >


 

 

Trending Now





The Lost Girls of Paris – Pam Jenoff

A New York Times Bestseller Cosmopolitan Best Book Club Book of 2019 PopSugar Must-Read Book of 2019 Glamour Best Book of 2019 “Fraught with danger, filled with mystery, and meticulously researched, The Lost Girls of Paris is a fascinating tale of the hidden women who helped to win the war.” —Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours “Pam Jenoff’s meticulous research and gorgeous historical world-building lift her books to must-buy status. An intriguing mystery and a captivating heroine make The Lost Girls of Paris a read to savor!” —Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling ...



The Switch – Joseph Finder

A simple mix up throws one innocent man into the crosshairs of sinister government secrets and ruthless political ambitions in New York Times bestselling author Joseph Finder’s timely, electrifying new thriller. Michael Tanner is on his way home from a business trip when he accidentally picks up the wrong MacBook in an airport security line. He doesn’t notice the mix-up until he arrives home in Boston, but by then it’s too late. Tanner’s curiosity gets the better of him when he discovers that the owner is a ...



Minimalism – Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus

Minimalism is the thing that gets us past the things so we can make room for life’s most important things—which actually aren’t things at all. At age 30, best friends Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus walked away from their six-figure corporate careers, jettisoned most of their material possessions, and started focusing on what’s truly important. In their debut book, Joshua & Ryan, authors of the popular website TheMinimalists.com, explore their troubled pasts and descent into depression. Though they had achieved the American Dream, they ...



Out of the Dark – Gregg Hurwitz

“This novel will be remembered as one of the best thrillers of the year.” —Associated Press  “A shocking stunner in every way. The perfect thriller.” —Robert Crais When darkness closes in—he’s your last, best hope. Evan Smoak returns in Gregg Hurwitz’s #1 international bestselling Orphan X series in Out of the Dark. Taken from a group home at age twelve, Evan Smoak was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program, an off-the-books operation designed to create deniable intelligence assets—i.e. assassins. Evan was Orphan X. ...



The Rosie Result – Graeme Simsion

I was standing on one leg shucking oysters when the problems began… Don Tillman and Rosie Jarman are about to face their most important challenge. Their ten-year-old son, Hudson, is struggling at school: he’s socially awkward and not fitting in. Don’s spent a lifetime trying to fit in—so who better to teach Hudson the skills he needs? The Hudson Project will require the help of friends old and new, force Don to decide how much to guide Hudson and how much to let him be ...

A Maiden So Bewitching – Colm Herron

From the highly-acclaimed northern Irish novelist Colm Herron comes this sad, sexy and beautiful story about a desperate Irishman called Lexie Cheddy, an only child. Lexie’s mother has always wanted a daughter so that’s how she brings him up. As a daughter. And she names him Alexis. To add to his troubles he falls on his head at the age of fourteen and a half and when he wakes up he’s a genius. (Condition known as Acquired Savant Syndrome). Lexie is now seventy-one and has ...



The Sisters of the Winter Wood – Rena Rossner

Captivating and boldly imaginative, with a tale of sisterhood at its heart, Rena Rossner’s debut fantasy invites you to enter a world filled with magic, folklore, and the dangers of the woods. “Intricately crafted, gorgeously rendered…full of heart, history, and enchantment.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) Publishers Weekly: Best Book of 2018: SF/Fantasy/Horror BookPage: Best Book of 2018: Science Fiction & Fantasy In a remote village surrounded by vast forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their ...



The First Conspiracy: The Secret Plot to Kill George Washington – Brad Meltzer

Taking place during the most critical period of our nation’s birth, The First Conspiracy tells a remarkable and previously untold piece of American history that not only reveals George Washington’s character, but also illuminates the origins of America’s counterintelligence movement that led to the modern day CIA. In 1776, an elite group of soldiers were handpicked to serve as George Washington’s bodyguards. Washington trusted them; relied on them. But unbeknownst to Washington, some of them were part of a treasonous plan. In the months leading up to ...



Young Benjamin Franklin: The Birth of Ingenuity – Nick Bunker

In this new account of Franklin’s early life, Pulitzer finalist Nick Bunker portrays him as a complex, driven young man who elbows his way to success. From his early career as a printer and journalist, to his scientific work and his role as a founder of a new republic, Benjamin Franklin has always seemed the inevitable embodiment of American ingenuity. But in his youth he had to make his way through a harsh colonial world where he fought many battles: with his rivals, but also ...



Old Newgate Road – Keith Scribner

From the author of The Oregon Experiment, the story of a father’s return to his childhood home, the site of unspeakable tragedy, and of the complex and often warring obligations–not least forgiveness–we have to our family, our friends, and our past. Old Newgate Road runs through the tobacco fields of northern Connecticut that once drove the local economy. It’s where Cole Callahan spent his youth, in a historic white colonial that his family was devoted to restoring–painstakingly, relentlessly, pointlessly. But the famous claim that you can’t ...



Confessions of a Rogue Nuclear Regulator – Gregory B. Jaczko

A shocking exposé from the most powerful insider in nuclear regulation about how the nuclear energy industry endangers our lives—and why Congress does nothing to stop it. Greg Jaczko never planned things to turn out this way. A Birkenstocks-wearing physics PhD, he had never heard of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) when he came to Washington and—thanks to the determination of a powerful senator—found himself at the agency’s head. He felt like Dorothy invited behind the curtain at Oz. The problem was that Jaczko wasn’t ...

Tenderloin – LD Marr

In near future New York, Myrna used to be a drug addict. Her hangout was the Tenderloin, an after-hours dance club. Now Myra is a counselor in a clinic for recovering teen addicts. But her new life is about to change. She finds out that young people from the clinic are disappearing and have been for a long time. Myrna starts to have visions that point her to the kidnapper and the gruesome truth. She’s put on a path back to the Tenderloin Club and ...



The German Girl – Armando Lucas Correa

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “powerful and affecting” (Kirkus Reviews) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and Schindler’s List. Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer ...



The Rule of Law – John Lescroart

In “master of the legal thriller” (Chicago Sun-Times) John Lescroart’s electrifying new novel, attorney Dismas Hardy is called to defend the least likely suspect of his career: his longtime, trusted assistant who is suddenly being charged as an accessory to murder. Dismas Hardy knows something is amiss with his trusted secretary, Phyllis. Her out-of-character behavior and sudden disappearances concern Hardy, especially when he learns that her convict brother—a man who had served twenty-five years in prison for armed robbery and attempted murder—has just been released. ...

Categories

 


 


First Line

This morning, I know the scientific term for the vermilion star, Mediaster aequalis, but I have trouble remembering my name.

.


 


 

Get Tomorrow's Book

We'll send you a brief email.

 

 

Unfiltered – Read At Your Own Risk