Monthly Archives: July 2019

The Other Americans – Laila Lalami

From the Pulitzer Prize finalist, author of The Moor’s Account–a timely and powerful new novel about the suspicious death of a Moroccan immigrant that is at once a family saga, a murder mystery, and a love story, all of it informed by the treacherous fault lines of American culture. Late one spring night, Driss Guerraoui, a Moroccan immigrant in California, is walking across a darkened intersection when he is killed by a speeding car. The repercussions of his death bring together a diverse cast of characters: Guerraoui’s daughter Nora, a jazz composer who returns to ...

The Deepest Cut (Driven to the Hilt Book 1) – DG Lamb

WINNER of the Literary Classics Gold Medal for Young Adult Science Fiction of 2018! WINNER of the Independent Authors’ Network Outstanding Science Fiction book of 2018! Bronze Medal winner for Teens in United Kingdom’s Wishing Shelf Book Awards! Joshua is a good kid. A really good kid. But the cards seem stacked against him. First, his father is killed defending a ship against a Space Pirate heist. But the company town’s crooked politicians blame Joshua’s Dad for the loss of valuable cargo, causing his mother ...

Nocturna – Maya Motayne

The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy—set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world—about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab. To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her…and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, it’s been years ...

The Making of a Justice – John Paul Stevens

John Paul Stevens, 1920 – 2019. A masterful and personal account of life on the Supreme Court that offers a unique understanding of American history from one of the most prominent jurists of our time When Justice John Paul Stevens retired from the Supreme Court of the United States in 2010, he left a legacy of service unequaled in the history of the Court. During his thirty-four-year tenure, Justice Stevens was a prolific writer, authoring in total more than 1000 opinions. In THE MAKING OF ...

Shortest Way Home – Pete Buttigieg

“The best American political autobiography since Barack Obama’s Dreams from My Father.” —Charles Kaiser, The Guardian A mayor’s inspirational story of a Midwest city that has become nothing less than a blueprint for the future of American renewal. Once described by the Washington Post as “the most interesting mayor you’ve never heard of,” Pete Buttigieg, the thirty-seven-year-old mayor of South Bend, Indiana, has now emerged as one of the nation’s most visionary politicians. With soaring prose that celebrates a resurgent American Midwest, Shortest Way Home narrates the heroic transformation of a ...

Girls Like Us – Cristina Alger

From the celebrated and bestselling author of The Banker’s Wife, worlds collide when an FBI agent investigates a string of grisly murders on Long Island that raises the impossible question: What happens when the primary suspect is your father? FBI Agent Nell Flynn hasn’t been home in ten years. Nell and her father, Homicide Detective Martin Flynn, have never had much of a relationship. And Suffolk County will always be awash in memories of her mother, Marisol, who was brutally murdered when Nell was just seven. ...

Whisper Network – Chandler Baker

“Honest, timely, and completely thrilling.” —Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick) “Part page-turning thriller, part smart examination of the #MeToo movement, part feminist rallying cry…Whisper Network is the satisfying “beach read” we’ve earned.” —The Daily Beast Sloane, Ardie, Grace, and Rosalita have worked at Truviv, Inc. for years. The sudden death of Truviv’s CEO means their boss, Ames, will likely take over the entire company. Each of the women has a different relationship with Ames, who has always been surrounded by whispers about ...

The British Are Coming – Rick Atkinson

From the bestselling author of the Liberation Trilogy comes the extraordinary first volume of his new trilogy about the American Revolution Rick Atkinson, author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning An Army at Dawn and two other superb books about World War II, has long been admired for his deeply researched, stunningly vivid narrative histories. Now he turns his attention to a new war, and in the initial volume of the Revolution Trilogy he recounts the first twenty-one months of America’s violent war for independence. From the battles at ...

You’re All Mine – Ruth Harrow

The worst secrets are often hidden by the shiniest facade… Heather lives in her dream house, has a handsome husband and a successful career. Famous in her field, she has legions of devoted followers on social media. But all is not as rosy as the Pinterest-perfect picture she lets them see. Behind closed doors lurks a more sinister story. Heather would be horrified if people knew about the violent scarlet stain near the fireplace… or the shocking secrets that keep her awake at night and ...

Lock Every Door – Riley Sager

The next heart-pounding thriller from bestselling author Riley Sager follows a young woman whose new job apartment sitting in one of New York’s oldest and most glamorous buildings may cost more than it pays. No visitors. No nights spent away from the apartment. No disturbing the other residents, all of whom are rich or famous or both. These are the only rules for Jules Larsen’s new job as an apartment sitter at the Bartholomew, one of Manhattan’s most high-profile and mysterious buildings. Recently heartbroken and ...

The Curious Dreamer’s Dream Essentials – Nancy Wagaman

Dream meaning is so powerful that one dream can change your life. Discover 11 keys to interpreting your own dreams in this book from the author of The Curious Dreamer’s Dream Dictionary. With these practical tips, translation tools, and analysis techniques, you’ll be free to explore your dreams and unlock their transformative power. Dream Interpretation Process: Follow a practical 4-step process to interpret and benefit from your dream. Symbolism Shortcuts: Discover common symbolism patterns pointing to dream meaning. Intuition as a Dream Translator: Learn how ...

The Rest of the Story – Sarah Dessen

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah Dessen comes a big-hearted, sweeping novel about a girl who reconnects with a part of her family she hasn’t seen since she was a little girl—and falls in love, all over the course of a magical summer. Emma Saylor doesn’t remember a lot about her mother, who died when Emma was twelve. But she does remember the stories her mom told her about the big lake that went on forever, with cold, clear water and mossy trees at the edges. ...

Anna – Colm Herron

Huge, absorbing, almost unbearably moving, Anna is the story of one girl’s bid for love in a suffocating society. An epic set in troubled Ireland, this rich tale of love and the search for fulfilment will captivate you from the first word to the last.

Lost and Found – Danielle Steel

What might have been? That tantalizing question propels a woman on a cross-country adventure to reunite with the men she loved and let go, in Danielle Steel’s exhilarating new novel. It all starts with a fall from a ladder, in a firehouse in New York City. The firehouse has been converted into a unique Manhattan home and studio where renowned photographer Madison Allen works and lives after raising three children on her own. But the accident, which happens while Maddie is sorting through long-forgotten personal ...