Monthly Archives: January 2020

Long Bright River – Liz Moore

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2020 by: Entertainment Weekly, The New York Times, Vogue, Marie Claire, Washington Post, PopSugar, Bustle, Forbes & more!   “Navigates assuredly between the plot twists and big reveals. . . . Long Bright River is equal parts literary and thrilling.” —O, The Oprah Magazine   “A thoughtful, powerful novel by a writer who displays enormous compassion for her characters. Long Bright River is an outstanding crime novel… I absolutely loved it.” —Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Girl on the Train Two ...

Such a Fun Age – Kiley Reid

A REESE’S BOOK CLUB x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK PICK A striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice, Such a Fun Age is a page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both. Alix Chamberlain is a woman who gets what she wants and has made a living, with her confidence-driven brand, showing other women how to do the same. So she is shocked when her babysitter, ...

Little Women – Louisa May Alcott

Meg is the eldest and on the brink of love. Then there’s tomboy Jo who longs to be a writer. Sweet-natured Beth always puts others first, and finally there’s Amy, the youngest and most precocious. Together they are the March sisters. Even though money is short, times are tough and their father is away at war, their infectious sense of fun sweeps everyone up in their adventures — including Laurie, the boy next door. And through sisterly squabbles, their happy times and sad ones too, ...

Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America – Elizabeth Wurtzel

“Sparkling, luminescent prose . . . A powerful portrait of one girl’s journey through the purgatory of depression and back.” —New York Times “A book that became a cultural touchstone.” —New Yorker Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. Her famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell ...

Find Your Weigh – Shellie Bowdoin

When has a diet ever yielded long-term weight results? If you have ever felt hopeless about your weight or struggled with the up and down rollercoaster of yo-yo dieting, Find Your Weigh offers a new perspective and proactive steps to change your relationship with food. When we think about losing weight, we immediately think of a diet. However, diets are only short-term fixes to target our weight, which is really just a symptom of our behavior with food. If we really want to change our ...

The Haunted – Danielle Vega

From Danielle Vega, YA’s answer to Stephen King, comes a new paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places. Clean slate. That’s what Hendricks Becker-O’Malley’s parents said when they moved their family to the tiny town of Drearfield, New York. Hendricks wants to lay low and forget her dark, traumatic past. Forget him. But things don’t go as planned. Hendricks learns from new friends at school that Steele House–the fixer upper her parents are so ...

Life and Limb (Blood and Bone Book 1) – Jennifer Roberson

A biker and a cowboy must stop the apocalypse in the first book of the Blood and Bone modern western fantasy series. His voice was rich, a much loved baritone, as he handed his seven-year-old grandson a gun. “It’s time we had a talk, you and I. You won’t remember it, but you need to know it, and one day, when it’s time, I’ll call it up in you. You’ll know who you are, and what you’re intended to do. You’ll be a soldier, boy. ...

They Don’t Represent Us: Reclaiming Our Democracy – Lawrence Lessig

“This urgent book offers not only a clear-eyed explanation of the forces that broke our politics, but a thoughtful and, yes, patriotic vision of how we create a government that’s truly by and for the people.”—DAVID DALEY, bestselling author of Ratf**ked and Unrigged In the vein of On Tyranny and How Democracies Die, the bestselling author of Republic, Lost argues with insight and urgency that our democracy no longer represents us and shows that reform is both necessary and possible. America’s democracy is in crisis. Along many dimensions, a single flaw—unrepresentativeness—has detached our ...