Monthly Archives: November 2020

How to Write One Song: Loving the Things We Create and How They Love Us Back – Jeff Tweedy

There are few creative acts more mysterious and magical than writing a song. But what if the goal wasn’t so mysterious and was actually achievable for anyone who wants to experience more magic and creativity in their life? That’s something that anyone will be inspired to do after reading Jeff Tweedy’s How to Write One Song. Why one song? Because the difference between one song and many songs isn’t a cute semantic trick—it’s an important distinction that can simplify a notoriously confusing art form. The idea of becoming ...

Declan SBMC NO CAL – Erin Trejo

Being born into the club life, I knew my place. I knew what was expected of me at a young age. One fatal mistake, one unforgettable night changed me. Then she showed up at my clubhouse on a dare. When she kept coming back, I knew there was a reason. She was going to be mine whether she knew it or not. Until my past rears it’s ugly head and threatens to rip us apart.

Fortune and Glory – Janet Evanovich

The twenty-seventh entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series isn’t just the biggest case of Stephanie Plum’s career. It’s the adventure of a lifetime. When Stephanie’s beloved Grandma Mazur’s new husband died on their wedding night, the only thing he left her was a beat-up old easy chair…and the keys to a life-changing fortune. But as Stephanie and Grandma Mazur search for Jimmy Rosolli’s treasure, they discover that they’re not the only ones on the hunt. Two dangerous enemies from the past stand in their ...

Greenlights – Matthew McConaughey

From the Academy Award®–winning actor, an unconventional memoir filled with raucous stories, outlaw wisdom, and lessons learned the hard way about living with greater satisfaction   “Unflinchingly honest and remarkably candid, Matthew McConaughey’s book invites us to grapple with the lessons of his life as he did—and to see that the point was never to win, but to understand.”—Mark Manson, author of The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck I’ve been in this life for fifty years, been trying to work out its riddle for ...

The Silence – Don DeLillo

From one of the most dazzling and essential voices in American fiction, a timely and compelling novel set in the near future about five people gathered together in a Manhattan apartment, in the midst of a catastrophic event. Don DeLillo completed this novel just weeks before the advent of Covid-19. The Silence is the story of a different catastrophic event. Its resonances offer a mysterious solace. It is Super Bowl Sunday in the year 2022. Five people, dinner, an apartment on the east side of Manhattan. The ...

The Short Life and Curious Death of Free Speech in America – Ellis Cose

Named one of Newsweek’s “25 Must-Read Fall Fiction and Nonfiction Books to Escape the Chaos of 2020” The critically acclaimed journalist and bestselling author of The Rage of a Privileged Class explores one of the most essential rights in America—free speech—and reveals how it is crumbling under the combined weight of polarization, technology, money and systematized lying in this concise yet powerful and timely book. Free speech has long been one of American’s most revered freedoms. Yet now, more than ever, free speech is reshaping America’s social ...

The Last Druid (The Fall of Shannara) – Terry Brooks

 Hope blooms anew for the Four Lands in this riveting conclusion, not only to the Fall of Shannara series but to the entire Shannara saga—a truly landmark event over forty years in the making! Since he first began the Shannara saga in 1977, Terry Brooks has had a clear idea of how the series should end, and now that moment is at hand. As the Four Lands reels under the Skaar invasion—spearheaded by a warlike people determined to make this land their own—our heroes must ...

No Man’s Land – Ben Magid

“My name is Rebel Anne Rae… and I am the last remaining human alive on planet Earth.” When the robot uprising began, humans fled a planet in cataclysmic decline — mistakenly leaving behind a solitary girl. Marooned, Rebel is forced to survive and avoid detection among androids intent on hunting her down. Her only chance for safety lies with Thomas, a young Mech willing to help reunite her with her people. Caught between two warring factions, Rebel is forced to decide the fate of the ...

The Black Kids – Christina Hammonds Reed

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin “A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion “A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex ...

The Enchanted Crossroads – Dora Blume

A Vengeful God. An army of evil warlocks. An inexperienced witch, the world’s only hope… Kaira’s life was going according to plan until the death of her mother revealed a world-shattering secret. She was a witch. To save the world, Kaira’s going to have to find the sisters she didn’t know existed with powers she doesn’t know how to use. Leif, the driven coven leader, rescues her from the warlocks trying to kill her. Their spark is instant. He’ll teach her how to be a ...

The 99% Invisible City: A Field Guide to the Hidden World of Everyday Design – Roman Mars, Kurt Kohlstedt

“[A] diverse and enlightening book . . . The 99% Invisible City is altogether fresh and imaginative when it comes to thinking about urban spaces.” —The New York Times Book Review “Here is a field guide, a boon, a bible, for the urban curious. Your city’s secret anatomy laid bare—a hundred things you look at but don’t see, see but don’t know. Each entry is a compact, surprising story, a thought piece, an invitation to marvel. Together, they are almost transformative. To know why things are as they are adds ...

Invisible Girl – Lisa Jewell

“I absolutely loved Invisible Girl—Lisa Jewell has a way of combining furiously twisty, utterly gripping plots with wonderfully rich characterization—she has such compassion for her characters, and we feel we know them utterly… A triumph!” —Lucy Foley, New York Times bestselling author The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone returns with an intricate thriller about a young woman’s disappearance and a group of strangers whose lives intersect in its wake. Owen Pick’s life is falling apart. In his thirties and living in his aunt’s spare bedroom, he has ...

Dormir – Michael Golvach

In every private investigation, there are rules and limitations—when a child’s life is on the line, all may be broken. Payden Beck has been a police officer, a police detective, and a private investigator. Now, after a lifetime of combatting crime, he’s ready to stop fighting. When a young girl named Chloe—kin to his greatest adversary—tries to hire him, he gives her the sad news. But, when Chloe makes her plight clear, Payden knows he must take her case, even if it means confronting a ...

What Unites Us: Reflections on Patriotism – Dan Rather

“I find myself thinking deeply about what it means to love America, as I surely do.” —Dan Rather At a moment of crisis over our national identity, venerated journalist Dan Rather has emerged as a voice of reason and integrity, reflecting on—and writing passionately about—what it means to be an American. Now, with this collection of original essays, he reminds us of the principles upon which the United States was founded. Looking at the freedoms that define us, from the vote to the press; the ...