Monthly Archives: March 2022

One Damn Thing After Another: Memoirs of an Attorney General – William P. Barr

The former attorney general provides a candid account of his historic tenures serving two vastly different presidents, George H.W. Bush and Donald J. Trump. William Barr’s first tenure as attorney general under President George H.W. Bush was largely the result of chance, while his second tenure under President Donald Trump a deliberate and difficult choice. In this candid memoir, Barr takes readers behind the scenes during seminal moments of the 1990s, from the LA riots to Pan Am 103 and Iran Contra. Thirty years later, ...

Jalopy – Wes Verde

New Jersey, 1928. All her life, Etta Wozniak has toiled on her family’s small farm, located on the outskirts of a lake resort town. After losing her mother and siblings to one misfortune or another, life has fallen into a rut of drudgery and predictability. That is, until the day she discovers something in an unlikely place; an old car. Energized by the prospects of a world beyond the one she knows, she decides to make this her last summer on the farm. However, disaster ...

I’m Not Scared, You’re Scared – Seth Meyers, Rob Sayegh

From the incomparable host of “Late Night with Seth Meyers” comes a hilarious new picture book. When you’re a bear who is easily scared, it’s hard to have friends. Fortunately, Bear has one: Rabbit, who is very brave. One day, Rabbit urges Bear to face his fears and embark on an adventure together. However, things don’t entirely go as planned, and the two friends learn the true meaning of bravery. Equal parts hilarious and touching, this funny tale of adventure, bravery, and daring rescue will both ...

Comedy Comedy Comedy Drama – Bob Odenkirk

In this “essential” (Entertainment Weekly), “hilarious” (AV Club) memoir, the star of Mr. Show, Breaking Bad, and Better Call Saul opens up about the highs and lows of showbiz, his cult status as a comedy writer, and what it’s like to reinvent himself as an action film ass-kicker at fifty. “I’ve known Bob Odenkirk for more than thirty years, and yet I had to read this book to believe his stunning career arc.”—Conan O’Brien ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—Entertainment Weekly, USA Today, Parade, The AV Club ...

Wolf’s Bane – Aimee Easterling

Secrets are my specialty. I’m Mai Fairchild — fox shifter, sister’s keeper, and bane of the local werewolf pack. In a world where different is dangerous, my sister and I must pretend to be human at all costs. Too bad I just lost the job that lets me live under the radar while putting food on my sister’s plate. Enter an enticing werewolf who offers enough cash to upgrade our diets from ramen noodles to salami if I join him on a magical hunt. But ...

Loveless – Alice Oseman

For fans of Love, Simon and I Wish You All the Best, a funny, honest, messy, completely relatable story of a girl who realizes that love can be found in many ways that don’t involve sex or romance. From the marvelous author of Heartstopper comes an exceptional YA novel about discovering that it’s okay if you don’t have sexual or romantic feelings for anyone . . . since there are plenty of other ways to find love and connection. This is the funny, honest, messy, completely relatable story of Georgia, ...

Finding Purpose: Book 1 in the Mylin Valley Series – Angela E. Powell

An eight-year-old special needs child and a traumatized horse turn life upside down for Heather Fletcher. Is her expertise in training horses and a newfound interest in neuroscience enough to help them, or will they all be trampled in the dirt? For Heather, life in the small mountain town of Mylin Valley couldn’t be better. She has a family who loves and supports her, a community who embraces her, and a successful horse rescue ranch. But when Xavier, a young boy with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum ...

The Love of My Life – Rosie Walsh

GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK “Rosie Walsh’s The Love of My Life is my favorite kind of thriller—gripping, heartbreaking and impossible to put down.”—Laura Dave From the New York Times bestselling author of Ghosted comes a love story wrapped in a mystery: an up-all-night page-turner with a dark secret at its core I have held you at night for ten years and I didn’t even know your name. We have a child together. A dog, a house. Who are you? Emma loves her husband Leo and their young daughter Ruby: she’d ...

The Atlas Six – Olivie Blake

The much-acclaimed BookTok sensation, Olivie Blake’s The Atlas Six–now newly revised and edited with additional content. • The tag #theatlassix has millions of views on TikTok • A dark academic debut fantasy with an established cult following that reads like THE SECRET HISTORY meets THE UMBRELLA ACADEMY • The first in an explosive trilogy The Alexandrian Society, caretakers of lost knowledge from the greatest civilizations of antiquity, are the foremost secret society of magical academicians in the world. Those who earn a place among the Alexandrians will secure a life of ...

Domestic Deceit – H.C. Johnson

Come along on this powerfully gripping investigation as reporter K.J. Corchoran unravels a secret psychological program that has government neuroscientists on the verge of cracking the brain’s synaptic code. Their discovery is stunning: Deep in the brain’s recesses, a small anomaly is creating an evil evolutionary defect in a growing cluster of the population—including the domestic terrorists responsible for attempting to overthrow democracy during the January 6th attack on the U.S. Capitol. But to find a cure, Military scientists must test their hypotheses on volunteers—including ...

A One-Legged Stool: How Shareholder Primacy Has Broken Business (And What We Can Do About It) – Ed Chambliss

Have you ever wondered if business needs to be so…unbalanced? Is putting shareholders above everyone else the only way for private enterprise to be successful? Is that “just the way it is?” The short answer is “no.” Before “shareholder primacy” took hold in the 1970s, investors weren’t more important than other stakeholders. Companies balanced the interests of all the legs of the corporate stool – customers, employees, communities, and shareholders – and everyone’s life got better. So, what happened? How did we get to today, where ...

Return of the Death God: Stories – Connor de Bruler

“Hard-boiled is what you’re going to get with Connor de Bruler’s superb collection of short stories. For those who like their movies R-rated, with no filler, no moral restrictions, no magical resolutions, just gritty and raw storytelling. An absolute page-turner, with equal parts intensity and brevity.” — Jonathan R. Rose, Carrion, The Spirit of Laughter and Gato Y Lobo. “de Bruler’s collection rocks between Pizzolatto and Pynchon and defines the American geography of character with precision, and the occasional laugh-out-loud line: a catalog of the ...

Caramel Pecan Roll Murder – Joanne Fluke

In this scrumptious new read in the blockbuster series packed with delightful recipes from a beloved New York Times bestselling author, baker Hannah Swensen is tempted by a high-profile tournament in Lake Eden that quickly turns deadly… “A good puzzle, lots of delicious recipes…Fluke reinforces her place as the queen of culinary cozies.” —Publishers Weekly Embracing a sweet escape from her usual routine at The Cookie Jar, Hannah gets asked for her help in baking pastries at the local inn for a flashy fishing competition ...

Black Hole Survival Guide – Janna Levin

From the acclaimed author of Black Hole Blues and Other Songs from Outer Space—an authoritative and accessible guide to the most alluring and challenging phenomena of contemporary science. “[Levin will] take you on a safe black hole trip, an exciting travel story enjoyed from your chair’s event horizon.” —Boston Globe Through her writing, astrophysicist Janna Levin has focused on making the science she studies not just comprehensible but also, and perhaps more important, intriguing to the nonscientist. In this book, she helps us to understand and ...