The Yellow House – Sarah M. Broom

WINNER OF THE 2019 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR NONFICTION A brilliant, haunting and unforgettable memoir from a stunning new talent about the inexorable pull of home and family, set in a shotgun house in New Orleans East. In 1961, Sarah M. Broom’s mother Ivory Mae bought a shotgun house in the then-promising neighborhood of New Orleans East and built her world inside of it. It was the height of the Space Race and the neighborhood was home to a major NASA plant—the postwar optimism seemed ...



Prozac Nation: Young and Depressed in America – Elizabeth Wurtzel

“Sparkling, luminescent prose . . . A powerful portrait of one girl’s journey through the purgatory of depression and back.” —New York Times “A book that became a cultural touchstone.” —New Yorker Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. Her famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell ...



Travel Light, Move Fast – Alexandra Fuller

From bestselling author Alexandra Fuller, the utterly original story of her father, Tim Fuller, and a deeply felt tribute to a life well lived Six months before he died in Budapest, Tim Fuller turned to his daughter: “Let me tell you the secret to life right now, in case I suddenly give up the ghost.” Then he lit his pipe and stroked his dog Harry’s head. Harry put his paw on Dad’s lap and they sat there, the two of them, one man and his ...



The Impeachers: The Trial of Andrew Johnson and the Dream of a Just Nation – Brenda Wineapple

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Jennifer Szalai, The New York Times • The New York Times Book Review • NPR • Publishers Weekly  “This absorbing and important book recounts the titanic struggle over the implications of the Civil War amid the impeachment of a defiant and temperamentally erratic American president.”—Jon Meacham, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Soul of America When Abraham Lincoln was assassinated and Vice-President Andrew Johnson became “the Accidental President,” it was a dangerous time in America. Congress was divided over how the Union ...

Summer of ’77: Beaches, bars and boogie nights in Ibiza – Robert Fear

A holiday can change everything… …it did for Fred. He went on a two-week break with three friends to the Spanish island of Ibiza in July 1976. It was so enjoyable they all vowed to come back for the following season. In April 1977, Fred returned to Ibiza, alone, in pursuit of his dream. Behind him, he left his family, his girlfriend, and a promising career in banking. Challenges lay ahead. This would be no holiday. He needed a place to stay and to find ...



JAY-Z: Made in America -Michael Eric Dyson

“Dyson writes with the affection of a fan but the rigor of an academic. … Using extensive passages from Jay-Z’s lyrics, ‘Made in America’ examines the rapper’s role as a poet, an aesthete, an advocate for racial justice and a business, man, but devotes much of its energy to Hova the Hustler.” —Allison Stewart, The Washington Post “Dyson’s incisive analysis of JAY-Z’s brilliance not only offers a brief history of hip-hop’s critical place in American culture, but also hints at how we can best move forward.” —Questlove ...



The Irishman – Charles Brandt

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS I HEARD YOU PAINT HOUSES New York Times Bestseller Now a major motion picture directed by Academy Award® winner Martin Scorsese, starring Academy Award® winners Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Joe Pesci, Anna Paquin, and Academy Award® nominee Harvey Keitel, and written by Academy Award® winner Steven Zaillian. The Irishman “gives new meaning to the term ‘guilty pleasure.’’’ — Bryan Burrough, author of Public Enemies, in The New York Times Book Review “Told with such economy and chilling force as to make The Sopranos suddenly seem overwrought and theatrical.” —New York ...



The Beautiful Ones – Prince

The brilliant coming-of-age-and-into-superstardom story of one of the greatest artists of all time, in his own words—featuring never-before-seen photos, original scrapbooks and lyric sheets, and the exquisite memoir he began writing before his tragic death Prince was a musical genius, one of the most beloved, accomplished, and acclaimed musicians of our time. He was a startlingly original visionary with an imagination deep enough to whip up whole worlds, from the sexy, gritty funk paradise of “Uptown” to the mythical landscape of Purple Rain to the psychedelia of ...