Into the Streets: An Antiwar Love Story – Charles S. Isaacs

It’s the late 1960s. The Vietnam War, the Antiwar Movement and the Black Power Movement are rushing toward their explosive peaks. In the midst of this charged environment, an inter-racial pair of young activists fall madly in love. Awaiting them are excitement, danger, heartache and redemption. Into the Streets: An Antiwar Love Story chronicles these lovers’ challenging journey, their coming of age amidst an unpopular war; a racially polarized Chicago; a hostile mayor and ever-mounting threats, all while working through their own deep psychological issues. ...

The Heretics’ Revenge – Martin Barrett

“Persecuted to extinction, the Cathar heretics desperately seek revenge against the Church of Rome. It arrives in abundance 750 years later.” After Jean de Bensa is tortured to death as part of the Heretics’ Inquisition. The de Bensa family seek refuge at the Cathar fortress of MontsĂ©gur. Months later the mountain citadel is attacked by French troops, on the orders of the pope and the community eventually surrender and 205 elders are burnt to death. However, not before they conceal their treasure and relic in ...

The Munich Girl – Phyllis Edgerly Ring

What family secrets is a portrait of Eva Braun hiding? Fifty years after WW2, Anna is plunged into the treacherous world of the Munich girl who was her mother’s confidante – and Hitler’s lover – and finds her beliefs about right and wrong shattered. “Historical fiction that reads like memoir.”

The Queen’s Dog – N.L. Holmes

In the Bronze Age Syrian kingdom of Ugarit, a eunuch slave mistakenly believes his mistress the queen loves him, so when asked to spy on her under threat of punishment, he finds a way to avoid it. When she shows she cares nothing for him, he justifies reporting her disloyal activities but can’t escape agonies of conscience that take him into some dark places from his past. Can he redeem his cowardice with a single act of heroism?



The Song of Achilles – Madeline Miller

“At once a scholar’s homage to The Iliad and startlingly original work of art by an incredibly talented new novelist….A book I could not put down.” —Ann Patchett “Mary Renault lives again!” declares Emma Donoghue, author of Room, referring to The Song of Achilles, Madeline Miller’s thrilling, profoundly moving, and utterly unique retelling of the legend of Achilles and the Trojan War. A tale of gods, kings, immortal fame, and the human heart, The Song of Achilles is a dazzling literary feat that brilliantly reimagines Homer’s enduring masterwork, The Iliad. An action-packed ...



The Stationery Shop – Marjan Kamali

ONE OF NPR’S BEST BOOKS OF 2019 From the award-winning author of Together Tea—a debut novel hailed as “compassionate, funny, and wise” by Jill Davis, bestselling author of Girls’ Poker Night—comes a powerful love story exploring loss, reconciliation, and the quirks of fate. Roya is a dreamy, idealistic teenager living in 1953 Tehran who, amidst the political upheaval of the time, finds a literary oasis in kindly Mr. Fakhri’s neighborhood book and stationery shop. She always feels safe in his dusty store, overflowing with fountain pens, shiny ...

Dandelions (Waxwood Series: Book 4) – Tam May

She had more in common with her nemesis than she wanted to believe… For Vivian Alderdice, the 20th century begins with a new start. Now a working girl and progressive reformer like her friend, Nettie Grace, she has forsaken the Gilded Age opulence of Nob Hill for the humbler surroundings of Waxwood’s commercial district. Rather than whittle away her days with other wealthy young women in gossip, parties, and flirtations, she sells talcum powder and strawberry sodas to customers at Nettie’s Drugstore and helps the ...



The Daughter’s Tale – Armando Lucas Correa

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable, “searing” (People) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network. Seven decades of secrets unravel with the arrival of a box of letters from the distant past, taking readers on a harrowing journey from Nazi-occupied Berlin, to the South of France, to modern-day New York City. Berlin, 1939. The dreams that Amanda ...