The Wife Upstairs – Rachel Hawkins

“Compulsively readable…a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN • Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online • TimeOut • Woman’s Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! • Mystery and Suspense January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a ...

Her Silent Shadow: A Gripping Psychological Suspense Collection – Edwin Dasso (multiple authors)

She sat motionless… …her body tense with anticipation. What happened next nearly stopped her heart. In this world, nothing was as it seemed. There must be someone who pulled the strings, but it was hard to say who was behind the plot. She had to focus. Nothing else mattered. She needed answers. But at what cost? If she continued… …she might never get to sleep. That’s what happens when you start reading this anthology. You’ll be transported into 13 different worlds of intrigue and suspense. ...

Can’t Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds – David Goggins

New York Times Bestseller Over 2.5 million copies sold For David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare — poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse colored his days and haunted his nights. But through self-discipline, mental toughness, and hard work, Goggins transformed himself from a depressed, overweight young man with no future into a U.S. Armed Forces icon and one of the world’s top endurance athletes. The only man in history to complete elite training as a Navy SEAL, Army Ranger, and Air Force Tactical Air Controller, he went ...

Drug Use for Grown-Ups: Chasing Liberty in the Land of Fear – Carl L. Hart

From one of the world’s foremost experts on the subject, a powerful argument that the greatest damage from drugs flows from their being illegal, and a hopeful reckoning with the possibility of their use as part of a responsible and happy life Dr. Carl L. Hart, Ziff Professor at Columbia University and former chair of the Department of Psychology, is one of the world’s preeminent experts on the effects of so-called recreational drugs on the human mind and body. Dr. Hart is open about the ...

The Heretics’ Revenge – Martin Barrett

“Persecuted to extinction, the Cathar heretics desperately seek revenge against the Church of Rome. It arrives in abundance 750 years later.” After Jean de Bensa is tortured to death as part of the Heretics’ Inquisition. The de Bensa family seek refuge at the Cathar fortress of MontsĂ©gur. Months later the mountain citadel is attacked by French troops, on the orders of the pope and the community eventually surrender and 205 elders are burnt to death. However, not before they conceal their treasure and relic in ...

The Munich Girl – Phyllis Edgerly Ring

What family secrets is a portrait of Eva Braun hiding? Fifty years after WW2, Anna is plunged into the treacherous world of the Munich girl who was her mother’s confidante – and Hitler’s lover – and finds her beliefs about right and wrong shattered. “Historical fiction that reads like memoir.”

What the Dog Knows: The Science and Wonder of Working Dogs – Cat Warren

A firsthand exploration of the extraordinary abilities and surprising, sometimes life-saving talents of “working dogs”—pups who can sniff out drugs, find explosives, even locate the dead—as told through the experiences of a journalist and her intrepid canine companion, which The New York Times calls “a fascinating, deeply reported journey into the…amazing things dogs can do with their noses.” There are thousands of working dogs all over the US and beyond with incredible abilities—they can find missing people, detect drugs and bombs, pinpoint unmarked graves of Civil War soldiers, or ...