The Villa – Rachel Hawkins

“Hawkins weaves an engrossing tale about betrayal, sisterhood, and the power of telling your own story. Captivating!” ––People. “Hawkins is the reigning queen of suspense.” ––Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author. The bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs returns with a brilliant new gothic suspense set at an Italian villa with a dark history. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps ...

On the Same Page – Penelope Janu

For readers of Mhairi McFarlane, Beth O’Leary, Lindsay Kelk and Sally Thorne comes this utterly charming and delightfully funny love story where opposites attract – or do they? By day Miles Franklin, named after the famous author, is a successful lawyer. By night, in secret, she writes historical romance novels under the pen name Emma Browning. When ‘Emma’s’ novels win one of Australia’s biggest literary awards, Miles’s perfectly ordered life begins to unthread at the bindings. Especially when Lars Kristensen, CEO of the publishing company ...

Rough Sleepers – Tracy Kidder

The powerful story of an inspiring doctor who made a difference, by helping to create a program to care for Boston’s homeless community—by the Pulitzer Prize–winning, New York Times bestselling author of Mountains Beyond Mountains. “I couldn’t put Rough Sleepers down. I am left in awe of the human spirit and inspired to do better.”—Abraham Verghese, author of Cutting for Stone. Tracy Kidder has been described by The Baltimore Sun as a “master of the nonfiction narrative.” In Rough Sleepers, Kidder shows how one person can make a difference, as he tells the story ...

Spare – Prince Harry The Duke of Sussex

It was one of the most searing images of the twentieth century: two young boys, two princes, walking behind their mother’s coffin as the world watched in sorrow—and horror. As Princess Diana was laid to rest, billions wondered what Prince William and Prince Harry must be thinking and feeling—and how their lives would play out from that point on. For Harry, this is that story at last. Before losing his mother, twelve-year-old Prince Harry was known as the carefree one, the happy-go-lucky Spare to the more serious Heir. ...

Everybody Knows – Jordan Harper

A fearless black-bag publicist exposes the belly of the L.A. beast in “one of the best LA noir novels I’ve ever read” (Attica Locke) from Edgar Award-winning author Jordan Harper. Welcome to Mae Pruett’s Los Angeles, where “Nobody talks. But everybody whispers.” As a “black-bag” publicist tasked not with letting the good news out but keeping the bad news in, Mae works for one of LA’s most powerful and sought-after crisis PR firms, at the center of a sprawling web of lawyers, PR flaks, and private security ...

Attention Span: A Groundbreaking Way to Restore Balance, Happiness and Productivity – Gloria Mark

A “Next Big Idea Club” Must-Read Book for January AS HEARD ON ARMCHAIR EXPERT WITH DAX SHEPARD Rediscover your ability to pay attention with this groundbreaking new approach from “the definitive expert on distraction and multitasking” (Cal Newport). We spend an average of just 47 seconds on any screen before shifting our attention. It takes 25 minutes to bring our attention back to a task after an interruption. And we interrupt ourselves more than we’re interrupted by others. In Attention Span, psychologist Gloria Mark reveals these ...

The Bandit Queens – Parini Shroff

A young Indian woman finds the false rumors that she killed her husband surprisingly useful—until other women in the village start asking for her help getting rid of their own husbands—in this razor-sharp debut. “Shroff captures the complexity of female friendship with acuity, wit, and a certain kind of magic irreverence. . . . The Bandit Queens is tender, unpredictable, and brimming with laugh-out-loud moments.”—Téa Obreht, New York Times bestselling author of The Tiger’s Wife. Five years ago, Geeta lost her no-good husband. As in, she actually lost him—he walked out on her ...

Awe: The New Science of Everyday Wonder and How It Can Transform Your Life – Dacher Keltner

“Read this book to connect with your highest self.” —Susan Cain, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet and Quiet. “We need more awe in our lives, and Dacher Keltner has written the definitive book on where to find it.” —Adam Grant, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Think Again. “Awe is awesome in both senses: a superb analysis of an emotion that is strongly felt but poorly understood, with a showcase of examples that remind us of what is worthy of our awe.” —Steven Pinker, Johnstone Professor of Psychology, Harvard University, ...

A Dangerous Business – Jane Smiley

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, best-selling author of A Thousand Acres: An amazing “mash-up of a Western, a serial-killer mystery and a feminist-inflected tale of life in a bordello” (The Washington Post).   In 1850s Gold Rush California two young prostitutes, best friends Eliza and Jean, attempt to find their way in a lawless town on the fringes of the Wild West—a bewitching combination of beauty and danger—as what will become the Civil War looms on the horizon.   “Everyone knows that this is a dangerous business, but between you and me, ...

The January 6th Report: Findings from the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol – The January 6 Select Committee

The official report by the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol, featuring an exclusive foreword on the state of American democracy by Congressman Adam Schiff. On January 6, 2021, the United States came perilously close to losing its democracy. A mob instigated by the president of the United States violently attacked the Capitol Building in Washington, D.C., seeking to disrupt the certification of the electors in the presidential election and prevent the peaceful transfer of power for the ...

Trauma Comfrey, Nature’s Healing Herb Wounds, Sports Injuries, Sprains and Strains, Bruises, Back & Joint Pain, and More! – Terry Lemerond and Holly Lucille, ND, RN

Ready to get rid of throbbing pain? Whether from an aching back, a sprained ankle, or a nasty bruise or cut—no one wants to prolong the throbbing pain that comes with an injury. You can turn to an ancient herb known for its healing properties! Discover the way to heal back pain, bumps, sprains, strains, wounds and more — safely and effectively — with the unique healing plant called Trauma Comfrey. Learn why this powerful herb gets the job done and what to look for ...

Myth America: Historians Take On the Biggest Legends and Lies About Our Past – Kevin M. Kruse, Julian E. Zelizer

America’s top historians set the record straight on the most pernicious myths about our nation’s past  The United States is in the grip of a crisis of bad history. Distortions of the past promoted in the conservative media have led large numbers of Americans to believe in fictions over facts, making constructive dialogue impossible and imperiling our democracy. In Myth America, Kevin M. Kruse and Julian E. Zelizer have assembled an all-star team of fellow historians to push back against this misinformation. The contributors debunk narratives ...

Scam A-Lama Hardball: A Dark Comedy Crime Caper (Con the Rock Star Book 2) – Jinx James

“If a deal is too good to be true it probably is.” Michael Douglas. “Love it. I think Marc is a super cool character…” – Amazon Review ★★★★★ A secret enemy from the Rock Star’s past is plotting to wreck his comeback plans. Is this the ball-buster that will kill his career? Lured by a spectacular new album offer, Rock Star Marc Charles discovers he’s the target of trickery and a dodgy contract in a sneaky plot to con him. There’s something underhand going on ...

The Blackhouse – Carole Johnstone

From the author of the “dark and devious…beautifully written” (Stephen King) Mirrorland comes a richly atmospheric thriller set on an isolated Scottish island where nothing is as it seems and shocking twists lie around every corner. A remote village. A deadly secret. An outsider who knows the truth. Robert Reid moved his family to Scotland’s Outer Hebrides in the 1990s, driven by hope, craving safety and community, and hiding a terrible secret. But despite his best efforts to fit in, Robert is always seen as ...